Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Kirsan Ilyumzhinov re-elected for FIDE President!

Kirsan Ilyumzhinov wins 99-55

Kirsan Ilyumzhinov is re-elected for FIDE President! As per 14:30 CET on September 29th, the results are in. Ilyumzhinov wins with 95-55. Thus Kirsan Ilyumzhinov will be President of FIDE in the period 2010 - 2014.
The election day started in Khanty Mansyisk early in the morning. In a hall packed with members of federations the electoral process began.
As with every important election worldwide, a scandal is normal to take place. This time to no surprise it came from Kasparov, who questioned the proxy list and procedures for the current elections. The proxy list included 56 countries that have entrusted the their right to vote (without change of position) to other member states participating. More about this situation later.
The actual election in the booths started at 12:00 CET and continued for two hours. Election results were announced, with Kirsan Ilyumzhinov winning 95-55 This is loss for Anatloy Karpov and Gary Kasparov is comparable to the result of Bassel Kok team four years ago, when the result of the ballots was 54-96.
Kirsan Ilyumzhinov will be heading FIDE for one more term until 2014.
Here is more on the candidates and all events during the electoral campaigns.
Stay tuned for more updates on!

Tickets for the 2010 FIDE elections

FIDE elections take place every 4 years during the Chess Olympiad, the largest national teams chess event. The 2010 FIDE elections in Khanty-Mansiysk were scheduled for September.
The FIDE President Kirsan Ilyumzhinov has announced that he will seek re-election for the term 2010-2014. The other candidate, former World Champion Anatoly Karpov, has also announced that he will run for the office of FIDE President. No other applications were received until the deadline in June and the following presidential tickets were submitted.
I.Presidential ticket of Mr. Kirsan Ilyumzhinov:
1.President - Mr. Kirsan Ilyumzhinov nominated by Russia, Argentina and Mexico,
2.Deputy President - Mr. Georgios Makropoulos nominated by Greece,
3.Vice President - Mr. Lewis Ncube nominated by Zambia,
4.Vice President - Mrs. Beatriz Marinello nominated by Chile and Brazil,
5.General Secretary - Mr. Ignatius Leong nominated by Singapore,
6.Treasurer - Mr. Nigel Freeman nominated by Bermuda.


No comments:

Post a Comment