Tuesday, December 22, 2009


Society of Blind in Malaysia headed by President Mah Hassan Hj Omar and Sports Coordinator, Rosham Sidek had their hands full organising the annual SBM Chess Championship and this year is the team event, which attracted 24 players in eight teams from Sarawak and West Malaysia.

It was a 5 Rounds SWISS over two days at the Jati Minda Hall in Setapak, almost all the top Blind players were there Mah Hassan Hj. Omar, Nur Fiqhua Halil, Shaharuddin Mappa, mat Idris Saman, Mahadir Ghani, Moira Mukri and many more top blind players, it was interesting to see a fighting team championship. It should be noted that all SBM Blind Championship will be recognised as a basis for selection of 2010 Blind chess players from now on.

The champion Team : 1. KL Braille : Mah Hassan Hj Omar, Saharuddin Mappa and Nur Fiqhua Halil.
2. Mat Idris saman, Mahadir Ghani and Amir Shamsuddin from KL/Selangor A Team while the KL/Selangor b team got third place.